KWOC '22: My experience in my first Winter of code competition

KWOC '22: My experience in my first Winter of code competition

About KWoC '22:

Kharagpur Winter of Code is a 5-week long online programme for the students, who are new to open source software development. The programme not only helps students to get involved in open source, but also prepares them for many open source summer programmes, Google Summer of Code being one of them.

My Experience:

I first got to know about KWoC when I started to research about various Open-source contribution competition and saw about Kharagpur Winter of Code which was similar to GSoC. As, I was also planning to participate in GSoC, participating in KWoC would be a really good and would provide me with good projects to contribute.

So, applied for KWoC '22 through their website. The first project which I contributed was Apna-Bus-Booking-Reservation-System which was made using Python. When I first contributed the project was pretty barebone with not much on it but for my first contribution I thought it was a good idea to get started. I added a application based page with a background and couple of functions. After doing this, I did my first pull request for KWoC '22 which was accepted the next day and provided me with a whole lot of confidence.

The second project I contributed was calcu.te by DarkFalc0n. It was web development project which was a conversation calculator. In terms of contribution, I contributed a Meter to Feet convertor which was programmed in HTML, CSS and JavaScript. It was a really good project to contribute and provided a deeper understanding of web development. This was my second pull request and quickly merged by the maintainer.

CONCLUSION:

Overall, my experience with Kharagpur Winter of Code has been quite good. I learnt the mannerism of communicating with mentors and all the people associated with this. Thank you, KOSS, for providing a amazing opportunity.

My GitHub: github.com/KrishGaur1354

PR #1: github.com/Pranjal360Agarwal/ApnaBharat-Bus..

PR #2: github.com/DarkFalc0n/calcu.te/pull/30